The legislature strikes back…

Posted on March 4, 2011

36


An increasingly agitated state legislature voted Thursday to subject the AOC to the public contract code EXCEPT for construction. Assembly Bill AB314 would subject court construction and the court construction contractors to common sense laws that protect the public trust and public money. This is the first step in moving court construction over to responsible government. Please see our update below the video-

This tune goes out to Assemblyman Jeff Gorell and his legislative director Samuel Chung, for if neither of you had the courage to call a spade a spade, this would not have been possible. Next, we highly recommend that the state legislature quickly pass the trial courts rights act.

Thank you for showing California’s judicial branch where “Hotel California’s” door is.


________________________________________________________________

The battle for anti-public corruption laws over court construction funds continues. While it currently is not scheduled for a hearing, we’re going to ask that you pick up your telephone, reach out and touch someone on the Business & Professions Committee by calling a legislative aide or committee member.

Committee Members District Phone E-mail
Mary Hayashi – Chair Dem-18 (916) 319-2018 Assemblymember.Hayashi@assembly.ca.gov
Bill Berryhill – Vice Chair Rep-26 (916) 319-2026 Assemblymember.Bill.Berryhill@assembly.ca.gov
Michael Allen Dem-7 (916) 319-2007 Assemblymember.Allen@assembly.ca.gov
Betsy Butler Dem-53 (916) 319-2053 Assemblymember.Butler@assembly.ca.gov
Mike Eng Dem-49 (916) 319-2049 Assemblymember.Eng@assembly.ca.gov
Curt Hagman Rep-60 (916) 319-2060 Assemblymember.Hagman@assembly.ca.gov
Jerry Hill Dem-19 (916) 319-2019 Assemblymember.Hill@assembly.ca.gov
Fiona Ma Dem-12 (916) 319-2012 Assemblymember.Ma@assembly.ca.gov
Cameron Smyth Rep-38 (916) 319-2038 Assemblymember.Smyth@assembly.ca.gov